Monday, April 27, 2020


The Great Plains Journalism Awards promote the highest standards of journalism. The annual awards are presented by the Tulsa Press Club and Benevolent Association. We invite journalists from newspapers and magazines across the region to enter their best work from the past calendar year. 

The eight-state competition includes Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota and South Dakota.

2020 Distinguished Lecturer

Tony Messenger

2019 Pulitzer Prize for Commentary

Tony Messenger is the St. Louis Post-Dispatch's metro columnist, writing four columns a week in a position he has held since September 2016. He was editorial page editor from July 2012 until becoming metro columnist. He joined the Post-Dispatch in 2008 as a capital correspondent and political columnist in Jefferson City. 

He began his career at a small weekly newspaper in Colorado, where he was born and raised. He has worked at weeklies, dailies and magazines in Colorado, Arizona, Nebraska, South Dakota and Missouri. 

In 2016, Messenger was awarded a Missouri Honor Medal, the highest award bestowed by the University of Missouri's School of Journalism. That same year he won a National Headliner for editorial writing. In 2015, Messenger was a Pulitzer finalist for his series of editorials on Ferguson, and won the Sigma Delta Chi award for best editorials of the year, given by the Society of Professional Journalists. In 2014, he won the Burl Osborne award for editorial leadership presented by the American Society of News Editors, and the Walker Stone editorial writing award presented by the Scripps-Howard Foundation. He has won many other state and regional honors for his writing.


More information about Tony, and the other conference speakers can be found at the Great Plains Journalism Awards website.

If you have any questions about the event, please email Becki Watson, Tulsa Press Club executive director at or call the Tulsa Press Club at  (918) 583-7737.

Thank you to our 2020 Sponsors!


Publisher Sponsors

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma

Cherokee Nation Businesses


Executive Editor Sponsors


Editor Sponsors

Citizen Potawatomi Nation

Langdon Publishing

Trust Company of Oklahoma

Tulsa Community College

Doerner, Saunders, Daniel & Anderson, L.L.P.

Reporter Sponsors

Resolute PR

Not a sponsor yet? View sponsorship opportunities here.

415 S. Boston Ave.

Tulsa, Oklahoma


Atlas Life Building


Fax: 918-583-7485

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon